Possibly My Quarter-Life Crisis

At 24, I feel that I have reached that age where I can hear my biological clock ticking a little more loudly as I keep trying to climb the corporate ladder.

As much as I want to accomplish several life milestones in my twenties, I have had a hard time (as you recently read that my hubby is now being relocated back to Illinois), which includes a diagnosis of polycystic ovarian syndrome (or PCOS for short), losing a job, a hubby who wants to wait just a bit longer on having kids and trying to start a family.

Figuring out how to balance my career with my much-desired growing family is something that I think about way more than I’d like to admit, especially with my baby sister just giving birth to her second child a few months ago. Or the fear that I may not be able to have children due to my PCOS. But I digress.

With a recent job change behind me, I am feeling pretty good about my job prospects at this company. Even though I only have my associates’ degree verses most of the office employees who have a bachelor’s degree I have many skills that put me ahead of the game. As progressive as I feel I am in my new job there isn’t much of an opportunity for a promotion, just more tasks on my plate. Which in a way can be both good and bad depending on how the company handles the staffing.

There is a part of me that thinks it is incredibly unfair that my hubby doesn’t have the same kind of worries that I do or the fact that women only make 77 cents to the dollar of what men make. He doesn’t fear if his company will retaliate for taking the full parental leave, and his career won’t be interrupted by long absences, doctor’s appointments, and breast-pumping.

There is hope though in the months to come to be able to change things.

Leave a Reply

